Easy at Home Pizookie

If you’ve never heard of a pizookie, let me dazzle you with it’s wonderful goodness. It’s a specialty dessert at Bj’s Brewhouse, and it’s basically a pizza cookie. Well, more specifically it’s a cookie baked in a small deep dish pizza pan and served with ice cream on top. It’s a delicious melt in your mouth wonder.

This is a pretty simple version, I used pre-made cookie dough, if you want to make the cookie dough from scratch feel free. I just wanted this to be as easy as possible. Hope you like it. Let me know if you make it at home!

DSCN0689

Ingredients and Tools:
8 inch round pan
No stick spray
1 pack of break and break cookies (any brand/flavor your heart desires)
-if you have a tub or roll of cookie dough already on hand (you are already prepared for life by my standards), you can just measure out 2 cups of dough
Ice cream(any brad/flavor your soul tells you is necessary)
OPTIONAL: Friend to share this with

Total Time: 17 minutes
2 minutes prep
15 minutes to bake
Steps:

  1. Spray the pan with whatever non stick spray you’ve picked up. I got the baking spray because it was cheap, not because I have a preference or know if it matters weather you use something specific.
    • Try for a light spray in the pan. I tend to over do it and have big wet blobs of spray. If you can’t control yourself, as I can’t, just dab the over sprayed areas with a paper towel.
  2. Take the entire sheet of cookie dough and mash it into the pan.
    • Try to get this as even as possible, the best way I’ve found it to start pressing in the middle and address the edges when I feel like every is sort of spread out pretty well. To get a semi even looking top, I go over the whole thing with my fisted knuckles to get out as many of the finger impressions as possible. Don’t stress about the smoothness too much, you’re going to put ice cream on top anyway.
  3. Bake the cookie at 350 degrees ferenheit for 15 minutes, outside edges should be golden brown and center should look ooey gooey but not be raw.
    • I stuck a toothpick in the center to ensure it wasn’t raw. i.e. it came out looking clean, no dough was stuck to it. First time I did this, I stuck the toothpick right through a chocolate chip.DSCN0696
    • As I mentioned in my last cookie recipe, every oven is different. For this particular baking though, I don’t think variation in our ovens is going to have as much affect on the cookie as it did  with the sugar cookies. But if the cookie isn’t golden brown around the edges and/or still raw in the center, put it back in the oven for 3 minute intervals until it fit that description.
    • If you don’t want a gooey center, YOU’RE WRONG! Just kidding. You can use less dough for a thinner layer of cookie, which you’ll probably need to bake for a little bit less time. OR bake it longer until the center is crispy, however, this may risk burning the bottom/edges of the cookies. So just keep an eye on it.
  4. If this is a personal pizookie, scoop your ice cream on top and ENJOY!
    • If you’re sharing with a friend and they don’t mind eating right out the pan with you, also scoop you ice cream on top and ENJOY!
    • If you’re sharing with several people, and those losers don’t want to go to town on this right out of the pan, get new friends to share this with I’d just cut sections out of the cookie and pass out plates. Then you can smother your slice of cookie in as much ice cream as you want! 🙂DSCN0704

Be sure to tag me on Twitter or Instagram if you recreate this! Let me know if you want other versions of  pizookie, i.e. multiple flavors of cookie dough, bigger versions, personal sized, etc. I’m happy to attempt all sorts of cookie and ice cream combinations. It’s tough job, but someone’s got to do it.

2 comments

Leave a comment